Student and Staff Wellbeing

Pastoral Care Framework

At St Charbel’s College we are all called to be part of the pastoral ministry of the Church. Pastoral care permeates the total climate of relationships within the College community. It has the individual at its focus and reflects the support, care and guidance of the gospels. It is based on mutual respect between staff and students.

There is a pastoral dimension to the role of every staff member. The key focus is to know the students and nurture them to be their best. We believe in a holistic approach to the development of the whole child: spiritually; emotionally; socially; intellectually and physically. This is shown in the Pastoral Hexagon.

We aim to ensure that every member of the College community experiences a sense of belonging to a caring Christian community. The roles of parents, priests, teachers and students are complementary in liberating one another towards positive growth.

We aim to facilitate an environment which challenges and assists the child to develop positive self-discipline and we believe in a system of restorative justice. We encourage every child to achieve their God given gifts and talents to the full and to be confident young people who contribute positively to society.

Homeroom and class teachers are the first point of contact and they develop strong relationships with students. Year Coordinators (High School) and Stage Coordinators (Primary) underpin and direct the day to day processes to support Student Pastoral Care. Pastoral priorities are addressed in the K to 12 ‘You Can Do It’ Program.

     
PRIMARY SCHOOL
Director of Primary School Ms Maree Kelly mkelly@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Early Stage Coordinator Ms Yvette Attard yattard@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Stage 1 Coordinator Ms Sophia Danas sdanas@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Stage 2 Coordinator Ms Maxine Bell mbell@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Stage 3 Coordinator Mrs Rima Leas rleas@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
     
SECONDARY SCHOOL
Director of Pastoral Care 7-12 Mr Charlie Shalala cshalala@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Year 7 Coordinator Mrs Michelle Massoud mmassoud@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Year 8 Coordinator Mrs Andrea Panteli apanteli@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Year 9 Coordinator Mrs Kathy Kalpakoulas kkalpakoulas@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Year 10 Coordinator Miss Manelle Michael mmichael@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Year 11 Coordinator Mrs Joanna Zidros jzidros@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au
Year 12 Coordinator Mrs Zeina Hitti zhitti@stcharbel.nsw.edu.au